Primary Election Results

Wednesday, September 16th was the Primary Election in Connecticut. In previous editions of Election Headquarters, we gave you the inside story about two contested mayoral races. Here’s how they turned out!


In the race for mayor of Hartford, incumbent Pedro Segarra lost to challenger Luke Bronin. We highlighted this race as one to watch, given the seeming insurgence of Bronin and the importance of the Primary to the General Election-in Hartford, the winner of the Democratic Primary is almost guaranteed to win the General, given the high number of Democratic voters. Bronin defeated the incumbent Segarra by a margin of 55-45 percent. Nearly 10,000 votes were cast, overall. On Tuesday the 22nd, Segarra announced that he would not continue to run as an independent, and endorsed Bronin. This graceful exit by the incumbent mayor all but ensures Bronin will sail on to a November victory.


In our other highlighted election, there was also a dramatic result. New London saw its incumbent mayor lose his Primary as well. In a city that only just started electing mayors for the first time in its more than 300 year history, the first mayor to run as an incumbent, Daryl Finizio, lost the Primary Election to city council president Michael Passero by a stunning margin of 61-39 percent. The two candidates had clashed several times throughout the campaign, as the community began to rally around Passero. Finizio conceded to Passero, and pledged to support him in the General Election as he will face Republican Bill Vogel. New London leans Democratic, so that bodes well for Passero, but a Republican win is not out of the realm of possibility here. We will continue to monitor this one as November approaches.


Here are additional Primary Election winners from across the state:


Republican Primary Winners:
Bethel: First Selectman- Will Duff
Durham: Selectman- John Szewczyk
East Haddam: First Selectman- Mark Walter
East Windsor: First Selectman- Robert Maynard; Selectmen- Richard Pippin, Jr., Steve Dearborn
Ellington: First Selectman- Lori Spielman
Killingworth: First Selectman- Robert Drew
Naugatuck: Mayor- Tamath Rossie
Somers: First Selectman- Lisa Pellegrini
Stratford: Town Council District 2- Mark Dumas; Town Council District 7- Marianne Mitzi
Waterbury: Board of Aldermen District 2- Ruben Rodriguez


Democratic Primary Winners:
Bridgeport: Mayor- Joseph Ganim; Board of Education- Dennis Bradley, Ben Walker, Faith Harrison-Villegas (tie), Maria Pereira (tie); Council District 130- Kathryn Bukovsky, Scott Burns; Council District 131- Denese Taylor-Moye, Jack Banta; Council District 132- Evette Brantley, John Olson; Council District 137- Mita Feliciano, Aidee Nieves; Council District 138- Anthony Robert Paolette, James Morton; City Clerk- Lydia Martinez; Town Clerk- Charles Don Clemons
Hartford: Mayor- Luke Bronin; Treasurer- Adam Cloud; Common Council- John Gale, Julio Concepcion, Glendowlyn Thames, Thomas Clark, James Sanchez, rJo Winch
Middletown: City Council- Mary Bartolotta, Robert Blanchard, Carl Chisem, Gerald Daley, Grady Faulkner, Eugene Nocera, Robert Santangelo, Thomas Serra
New Britain: Board of Education- Merrill Gay, Nicole Rodriguez, Carlos Pina
New Haven: Board of Alders Ward 1- Sarah Eidelson; Ward 11- Barbara Ann Constantinople; Ward 12- Gerald Antunes; Ward 14- Berrios-Bones; Ward 18- Salvatore DeCola; Ward 20- Delphine Clyburn; Ward 28- Jill Lila Marks
New London: Mayor- Michael Passero
Norwalk: Common Council District A- Eloisa Melendex, Steve Serasis; District B- Travies Simms, Phaedrel Bowman; Board of Education District A- Yvel Crevecoeur; District B- Erik Anderson
Portland: Town Clerk- Keighly Kinsella
Stamford: Board of Representatives- Virgil de la Cruz
Suffield: First Selectman- Melissa Mack
Waterbury: Board of Aldermen District 4- Michael DiGiovancarlo
West Haven: Mayor- Ed O’Brien

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.